top of page

Take Me

Chapter 1: My Sister’s Keeper

“It’s all my fault” echoed, reverberating through the closet room. Looking up from the file delicately held in his hands, the officer studied me with almost somber eyes. “What’s your fault kid? The bruises on your arms? Or the scars? How about the burn marks on your thighs?!” a tear tore down my face as I fought against the golf ball in my throat. “I-I could have stopped it. I was the only one…she was my responsibility to protect…I’m sorry.” My voice breaks as does my heart. The only thing I ever loved, the only person who truly loved me, and I let her go. I didn’t save her. I let her die.

“Kid, breathe. Look at me, start from the beginning ok?” His eyes pools deep enough to drown the demons that suffocate my soul.

Chapter 2: A Somber Angel

Clear blue eyes haunted by ghosts of a battered childhood, her innocence trailing down a face too knowing for her age. This was the third domestic disturbance call this week. The one on the corner. The one with brand new siding and freshly painted shutters. The one with a fenced in backyard. All the more to hide the bruises with, my dear. Today Skylar made the call, sobbing through ragged words. Her sister was dead on arrival, nothing we could do. Skylar stayed silent for two hours. Staring at the interrogation room table. Her spirit drained of innocence. She’s no more than sixteen, but due to graduate this May, top of her class. Now, who knows. This was the first call from within that corner house, with perfectly green grass, and the best birthday parties on the block. I don’t dare contemplate what fate awaits Skylar after this betrayal.

For now I listen while she retraces her steps to where it all began, her dad undergoing interrogation just beyond the glass. Let’s pray it buys her enough time.

Chapter 3: Where it All Began

“It all started with a party. Evelin wanted to go so badly and I’m the one with the car. I told her it was a bad idea, that dad – that he wouldn’t like it. She insisted, she’s fourteen and is, well … was, in love with this boy and he’d be there so she just had to go. I was in love once, and one look at her and I knew the answer, we were going. Anything to make her happy.” As the words left my tongue a stream of longing ran down my spine and spread through the rest of my body like a wave, one of the big ones that knocks you on your ass and causes you to flip over one too many times and shoves salt water down your throat and up your nose in the process. Officer Morgan just looked at me with a sort of pathetic, yet genuine gaze.

After a long pause I resumed. In my mind’s eye I relive every moment, it was supposed to be a night to just be, without labels or taunts, just us, together. She was my best friend. I’ve never been one for parties, but Evelin needed this. I hadn’t seen her smile like that since before mom died. We watched the party from the sidelines, well I did, Evie was too busy frantically scanning the mass for Dillon. After about thirty minutes of clutched red cups and sideway shared glances at the expense of those too far gone, a rigorous game of flip-cup began on the dining room table. I left Evelin nervously rocking in the corner and took my place on the right side of the table. She shouted a half-hearted reminder about me DD-ing, though her smile sang a different tune, and threw in a small salute as I sauntered away.

Three games later, I glanced at the corner to notice Evie had left her faithful spot and dismissed any lingering fear, as she’d always been the more responsible despite her age. The guy standing next to me offered a high five, flashing his winning smile. We locked eyes and he leaned down, whispering, “Let’s get outta here” Startled, I stumbled backward slightly feeling his strong arm cradle my back. The last thing I remember is his hot lips shoved against mine, swallowing my desperate attempts to call for help. I woke to a scream and looked up to find Evie standing in the doorway of a room I didn’t recognize, clasping her hands over her mouth, eyes wide. She managed to get home, tears running down her face and a caring hand placed on my forehead. Stumbling through the front door, a light appeared as did a 6’ 4”, 260 lb male with white hair and a scowl. “Sky was raped” the words hung, taking root. Dad shifted into the light, revealing a clenched bat, “Good to know you’re not intruders, would be a shame if I were to-” Whack! The bat crashed across Evie’s face, denting her skull. I stood in shock, stray tears disappearing down my face. Whack! Whack! Whack! Until she lay limp on the hardwood, wading in her own blood. He stalked away, with a swift swing of the bat in my direction as if to say “you’re next”. I barely managed the 9-11 call, holding her until the paramedics came, mourning her untimely demise.

Chapter 4: Take Me At My Word

“He thought you were intruders?” can’t be. “Yes, he attacked before seeing us. She barely spoke before she was out” Sky darted her eyes down, obviously lying. “Sky, you can tell me the truth. Did your father kill Evie?” her eyes screamed “help me”. “It was an accident.” Unwavering. “Sweetheart, you’re free to go, your dad’s outside. So sorry for your loss.” Such simple words lead to ultimate demise. I stare up at the officer who uttered such terrible words. I’m afraid this is the last time I ever see the girl with wild eyes.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page