top of page

Idyllic Dancer

over there, in

the c o r

n

e

r

nose touching piercing metal.

see me

as I watch

mesmerized by

who you want to be, instead

of who you are.

who are you?

as you circle the pole

leg caught

winding around and your

arm free, swinging, forefinger pointed up

like a ballerina about to take flight.

standing here and I want to fly with you

up, up,

away

from all the things that make you

want to cry, wolf

she wolf

empty

emptying

Full

w a r m.

I have

only the clothing on my back

drowning in bright lights.

tight straps

shimmery gold

silver and

gold.

f

a

l

l

i

n

g.

into laps.

eyes closed

the smell of musk washes

over me

feeling the rush of tassels

whipping and clanging against metal

the soft breathing of eager onlookers

spreading out green paper between their fingers.

money can buy happiness here.

eyes open

I don’t want to be alone anymore, on

the street c o r

n

e

r.

P l e a s e.

he said I’d be safe here.

Am I Safe Here?

he can’t protect me anymore

from the bruises made at the hands

of the captors

keeping me in the cage I built myself.

when the ransom for my release is paid and demanded by

the same person

leaving me on the brink

of extinction.

Am I Safe Here?

Idyllic dancer.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page